17th Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium

 Namur, Belgium    July 3-8, 2022

Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis


Prof. Frank Glorius (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster) has been selected as the winner of the 2022 Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis !

Professor Glorius is an international leader and highly innovative scientist in the fields of organic synthesis and catalysis with outstanding contributions and accomplishments, in particular, in catalytic hydrogenations, C-H activation, visible light photocatalysis and organocatalysis with N-heterocyclic carbenes (NHCs).

The Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis (formerly Dr Paul Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis) was established in 1986 on the occasion of the first Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium (BOSS). The Prize is intended to honour Dr Paul Janssen, founder of Janssen Pharmaceutica.

The Prize is awarded on a biennial basis, on the occasion of the BOSS, to a chemist under the age of 50 who has made a significant contribution to the field of organic synthesis in the broadest sense. The Prize consists of a trophy, a citation, and 20.000 Euros. The laureate of the Prize is expected to deliver a lecture at the BOSS Meeting.

The Award Ceremony, including Prof. Glorius’ lecture, will take place on July 7, 2022 during BOSS XVII scheduled in Namur from July 3-8, 2022.

In addition, Prof. Phil Baran (The Scripps Research Institute, US), recipient of the 2020 Janssen Prize presented virtually due to the pandemic, will also deliver a lecture on the same day.

Awardees of the Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis:

  • 2020 - P. Baran (The Scripps Research Institute, USA)
  • 2018 - D. Toste (University of California, USA)
  • 2016 - D. MacMillan (Princeton University, USA)
  • 2014 - J.F. Hartwig (UC Berkeley, USA)
  • 2012 - I. Marek (Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, IL)
  • 2010 - E. Jacobsen (Harvard University, USA)
  • 2008 - A. Fürstner (MPI für Kohlenforschung, DE)
  • 2004 - P. Knochel (Ludwig-Maximilians-University, DE)
  • 2002 - D. Boger (Scripps Institute, USA)
  • 2000 - F. Diederich (ETH Zürich, CH)
  • 1998 - D.P. Curran (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  • 1996 - S. Ley (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • 1994 - K.C. Nicolaou (Scripps Research Institute and University of California, USA)
  • 1992 - P.D. Magnus (Texas University, USA)
  • 1990 - B.M. Trost (Stanford University, USA)
  • 1988 - J.E. Baldwin (Oxford University, UK)
  • 1986 - K.B. Sharpless (MIT, USA)

More info on: